Activate the new Company Info for Accounts Clean rule so that your
sales teams can segment accounts, plan territories, and understand their customers better. The
rule provides access to over 100 fields of company, industry, and financial information from
Dun & Bradstreet, the same fields as for Clean jobs.
It’s easy to set up the rule in
Lightning Experience or Salesforce Classic.
|To clean accounts manually
||“Read” and “Create” on the D&B Company object
Considerations for Activating the Company Info for Accounts Rule
- Recommendation to Use AppExchange Package Instead of Assessment Option
- The Company Info for Accounts Clean rule includes options to update your data or
generate a read-only assessment.
- Conflicts with Existing Clean Setup
- The Company Info for Accounts Clean rule conflicts with Clean jobs. To prevent
conflicts and confusion, do the following.
- Deactivate Clean jobs on your accounts.
- On Account page layouts, remove the elements related to Clean jobs: the Clean
button and the Clean Status field.
- Access for Users Who Clean Records Manually
- To let your users clean accounts manually, do the following:
- Make sure that users have “Read” and “Create” access to the D&B Company
object. When a user cleans an account, the rule creates an associated D&B
Company record (if the record doesn’t exist).
- Adjust field-level security to give users access to all the account fields
containing data provided by the rule.
- Triggers, Workflows, and Push Notifications
- Before activating a Company Info rule, review your settings for triggers, workflows,
and push notifications. Using a Company Info rule can set off those mechanisms.
- No Support for Field Mapping Customization
- You can’t customize field mapping for Company Info rules. Nor does customized field
mapping for Clean jobs carry over to Company Info rules.
Fields Containing Data Provided by the Company Info for Accounts Rule
|Company D-U-N-S Number
Activate the Company Info for Accounts Rule
- From Setup, enter Clean Rules in the Quick Find box, then select
- Edit the Company Info for Accounts Clean rule.
Company Info rules include an option to clean all records when the rule is activated or
saved. If you choose that option, then Salesforce immediately checks whether
new data is available for your existing accounts. For new accounts, Salesforce checks whether new data is
available when the accounts are saved. New data is added only to blank fields—your
data is never overwritten.
Guidelines for Cleaning Records Manually When the Company Info for Accounts Rule
Because the rule doesn’t overwrite data, when users update the Company
D-U-N-S Number field value while cleaning manually, they must delete the D&B Company field
value. Then, when company information is added, Clean adds updated values for those two fields
and links the correct D&B Company record to the account.