Control Who Can Merge Leads More Securely

A new Lead setting and changes to organization-wide defaults improve your control over who can merge and delete leads. The Public Read/Write/Transfer organization-wide default now only allows users to merge and delete leads if your org also has the Org-Wide Merge and Delete setting.

Where: These changes apply to Lightning Experience, Salesforce Classic, and all versions of the mobile app in Essentials, Group, Professional, Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, and Developer editions.

How: This new setting is enabled by default for existing orgs because they could have relied on the previous behavior. The new setting is disabled by default for new orgs created in Summer ‘18 and later.