Reduce Disruption During the Migration to Enterprise Territory Management

If you’re migrating from the original territory management feature, use Metadata API to delete your territory sharing records when the time is right. As a safeguard, the sharing records aren’t deleted when Salesforce Customer Support turns off the original feature. That way, your sales team can continue to access the records based on the original territory management sharing records while the migration is in progress.

Where: This change applies to Lightning Experience and Salesforce Classic in Performance and Developer editions and in Enterprise and Unlimited editions with the Sales Cloud.

How: Contact Salesforce Customer Support to enable the enableRemoveTMGroupMembership field in the new Sharing Settings Metadata API type. When it’s time to activate your territory model, use the enableRemoveTMGroupMembership field to delete the original territory sharing records. Then activate your territory model to complete the migration.