Set Up Users for Lightning Experience

Next up, make sure that the desired users get access to Lightning Experience. By default, the “Lightning Experience User” permission is automatically enabled for all users with a standard Salesforce profile. But you can fine-tune access to Lightning Experience with custom profiles or permission sets. Meaning you can do a limited rollout to a pilot group or enable a specific team of users who can benefit from the new interface or go for it and set your entire organization loose. The power is yours.
Profiles and Permission Sets available in: both Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience
Profiles available in: Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, and Developer Editions
Permission Sets available in: Group, Professional, Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, and Developer Editions

Note

Note

You don’t have to worry about this step if you use Group Edition or Professional Edition. All of your users are automatically switched to the new interface when you turn on Lightning Experience. Users who prefer to remain in Salesforce Classic can switch themselves back via the Switcher.

It’s a different story of you have Professional Edition with Profiles enabled—read on.

First things first, do you have users with standard profiles who shouldn’t get Lightning Experience yet? Move these users to custom profiles that don’t include the “Lightning Experience User” permission.

For users with custom profiles, decide who you want to move over to Lightning Experience. Consider these options.

  • Want to test Lightning Experience with a small group of users? Create a permission set that includes the Lightning Experience user permission. Then apply the permission set to each of your pilot users. When you turn on Lightning Experience, only these custom profile users see the new interface.

    Are you new to permission sets? Check out this walkthrough! Walk Through It Walk Through It: create, edit, and assign a permission set

  • Interested in rolling out Lightning Experience to specific custom profiles? Or ready to enable all your custom profile users? Adding the “Lightning Experience User” permission to profiles is the fastest way to mass-enable the new user interface.

    If you’re dealing with many profiles, you can tackle them at the same time with the Data Loader. But remember, with great power comes great responsibility. Take care you don’t inadvertently enable or disable other features.

If you’re going to limit Lightning Experience to a subset of your users, we recommend that you keep all members of a functional team on the same experience. If you have team members who often share links and work closely together, include them all in your pilot. See Gotchas If Users Switch Between Lightning Experience and Salesforce Classic for more details.