Reduce Object Permissions for Guest Users by the Winter ’21 Release (Security Alert)

With the Winter '21 release, Salesforce is removing the View All Data, Modify All Data, and delete permissions for guest users, and they can never be used for guest users on any objects. If a custom or standard object has View All Data, Modify All Data, or delete permissions for guest users, all the permissions are turned off with the Winter ’21 release. Reduce object permissions for guest users if they have View All Data, Modify All Data, or delete permissions on a standard or custom object.

Where: This change applies to all Salesforce orgs with one or more standard or custom objects with View All Data, Modify All Data, update, or delete permissions enabled for guest users.

How: Follow the step-by-step recommendations of the security alert if it appears in your org.

If a security alert appears in your org, your org data may be exposed to guest users because you have one or more standard or custom objects with View All Data, Modify All Data, update, or delete permissions enabled for guest users.

Important

Important

While we’re not removing the update permission for guest users yet, we’re removing it at a future date. Test your configuration by removing the update permission on all objects for guest users to see how your implementation is affected.