Opt Out of Guest User Security Policies Before Summer ’20 (Previously Released Update)

By activating this update, you opt out of three policies aimed at increasing your data security for guest, or unauthenticated, users. Activating this update opts your org out of having the following settings automatically enabled with the Summer ’20 release: Secure guest user record access, Assign new records created by guest users to the default owner, and Assign new records created by Salesforce Sites guest users. If your org already has these settings enabled, activating this update doesn’t change your configuration.

Where: The release update is visible in orgs with active communities in Enterprise, Essentials, Unlimited, Performance, and Developer editions.

When: The Secure guest user record access, Assign new records created by guest users to the default owner, and Assign new records created by Salesforce Sites guest users settings are automatically enabled with the Summer ’20 release. This update gives you the extra time to get ready. If you opt out of these settings for the Summer ’20 release, you must comply with our new guest security policies before Winter ’21, when they are enforced on all orgs.

How: To opt out of automatically enabling these settings, activate the update. To access the settings in the UI to see if they are enabled or not:
  • From Setup, enter Sharing Settings in the Quick Find box. Select Sharing Settings. You can see the Secure guest user record access checkbox on the page.
  • From Setup, enter Communities Settings in the Quick Find box, then select Communities Settings. You can see the Assign new records created by guest users to the default owner checkbox on the page.
  • From Setup, enter Sites in the Quick Find box, then select Sites. You can see the Assign new records created by Salesforce Sites guest users checkbox on the page.
Important

Important

Activating this update only affects orgs that don’t have these settings enabled. If your org already has these settings enabled, activating this update doesn’t change your configuration.