Create Criteria-Based Sharing Rules for Field Service

Control who can view and update records. Criteria-based sharing is newly available for seven field service objects. You can define up to 50 criteria-based sharing rules per object.

Where: This change applies to Lightning Experience and Salesforce Classic in Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, and Developer editions.

Who: Admins need the Manage Sharing user permission to create sharing rules.

Why: Criteria-based sharing gives you more granular control over your sharing settings. It’s now available for the following field service objects:
  • Location
  • Product Item
  • Return Order
  • Service Appointment
  • Service Resource
  • Service Territory
  • Work Type

For example, set up a sharing rule using the Location field on product items to share all product item records in your San Francisco warehouse with the warehouse manager.

How: Create sharing rules from the Sharing Settings page in Setup.