Upgrade Community User Licenses in a Blink

Upgrade users with customer licenses to either the Customer Community Plus or the Partner Community license. Yes, you no longer have to create entirely new users and migrate their data. Yes, you’re very welcome!
Previously, you had to create another user identity, migrate the user’s existing data over, and associate it with the new user identity. Now, you can upgrade the user with a few button clicks. Aside from being quicker, the new license upgrade approach offers many advantages.
  • You no longer need to re-create users in the system or migrate their data.
  • Users can keep their existing usernames and passwords.
 A license upgrade also preserves historical record and Chatter data. Ensure that users have access to the same objects via their new license and profile.
Plus, with the new licenses, users can take advantage of advanced sharing features, reports and dashboards, and role-based data access.

Who Is Eligible for a License Upgrade?

In general, we support upgrades from most customer licenses to the Customer Community Plus or Partner Community license. More specifically, for users whose UserType equals CSPLitePortal, we support license upgrades to PowerPartner or PowerCustomerSuccess (in the Salesforce API).

You can upgrade the following licenses to the Customer Community Plus or Partner Community license without any loss of data access.
  • Customer Community

  • High Volume Customer Portal
  • Overage High Volume Customer Portal

  • Authenticated Website User
 Overage
  • Authenticated Website User
  • External Identity
Warning

Warning

Other customer licenses associated with the CSPLitePortal user type also support license upgrades, but with some loss of data access. For example, users could lose access to some objects they previously had access to. In other cases, the new license might not include one or more user permissions available with the previous license.

We strongly recommend that you explore which permissions are affected before you upgrade a user’s license. The user’s new license, profile, and permission set assignments should ideally provide at least the same or comparable level of data access as previous assignments.

How Do I Upgrade Users?

To change a user’s license in Salesforce, go to their user detail page and click Edit. Specify a new license, profile, and role.

And if you want to upgrade users via the Salesforce API, for a single user or multiple users, we’ve got you covered! Use the update() method on the User object and specify the required ProfileId and RoleId values. That’s it.

Important Considerations

A few things to bear in mind before you upgrade a user’s license.
  • The Customer Community Plus and Partner Community licenses require the user to have a role, which imposes certain restrictions.
    • An upgrade to a license that requires a role is irreversible.

    • If you don’t specify a role during the license upgrade, we assign the lowest role in the account hierarchy to the user. If no roles exist on the account, we create one for you and assign it to the user.
    • Automatic role assignments always use the lowest role associated with the user’s account: Partner <Account Name> User or Customer <Account Name> User. So if you want to move them up in the role hierarchy, you can easily do so later.

  • Before upgrading a user to a Partner Community license, enable the user’s account as a partner account. 

    Tip

    Tip

    A partner account can have both customer and partner users, so customer users on the account aren’t affected when you enable it as a partner account.


  • A license upgrade removes sharing sets, permission sets, and permission set license assignments previously associated with the user.
  • License upgrades are subject to org limits that apply to user creation, such as license and role limits and username uniqueness requirements.
After you upgrade a user’s license:
  • Changes in profiles and permission sets can affect community membership. Ensure that upgraded users have access to the intended communities.
  • We recalculate sharing rules that apply to upgraded users, for example through their public groups, criteria-based sharing, and record ownership (implicit sharing).
  • Users upgraded to the Customer Community Plus license are automatically associated with the All Customer Portal Users public group. Similarly, users upgraded to the Partner Community license are associated with the All Partner Users public group.