Turn Off Automatic Updates to the Report Preview to Edit Reports Faster (Generally Available)

Edit reports faster by turning off automatic preview updates. When off, you can make multiple edits without waiting for the preview to refresh after each edit. When you’re ready to preview data, manually refresh the report preview. Or, see sample records returned after each edit by keeping automatic previews on.

Where: This change applies to Lightning Experience in Group, Essentials, Professional, Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, and Developer editions.

How: To turn automatic preview updates on or off, flip the Update Preview Automatically switch on or off. When on, the report preview updates automatically after each edit you make to the report. When off, a message tells you whether the preview shows your most recent edits and provides the option to refresh the preview. When hiding recent edits, the preview turns gray.

To refresh out-of-date data, click Refresh (1).

A unique count showing how many distinct accounts appear in report results

The preview reloads to show your edits.

A unique count showing how many distinct accounts appear in report results

The Update Preview Automatically switch does not affect the report run page.