Opt Out of Turning Off Community-Specific Setting for Guest Users to See Other Members (Critical Update)

By activating this critical update, you opt out of turning off the community-specific Let guest users see other members of this community setting in the Winter ’21 release.

Where: This change applies to Salesforce orgs with active public communities in Enterprise, Essentials, Unlimited, Performance, and Developer editions.

When: The Let guest users see other members of this community setting is automatically disabled in all communities in Winter ’21. This critical update gives you the extra time you may need to get ready.

How: Before Winter ’20, the Community User Visibility setting, when enabled, allowed guest users and authenticated community users to see each other within the community. In the Winter ’20 release, we introduced a new community-specific setting, Let guest users see other members of this community, that lets admins control guest user visibility independently from community user visibility.

Depending on your security configuration, this setting might allow a guest user, essentially anyone on the internet, to access community users’ personally identifying information. This can include first and last name, email, custom, and other fields.

To protect your customer data and privacy, Salesforce is turning off the Let guest users see other members of this community setting for all communities.

Depending on your business needs, enabling this setting and allowing guest users to see one another may be required for your site to function properly. Therefore, we are asking that you reassess and validate the need to enable Let guest users see other members of this community for each community. If you have one or more communities that must have this setting turned on, activate this critical update to opt out of the Winter ’21 update. However, we encourage you to work towards modifying your site's customization to allow this setting to be disabled. Limiting guest user visibility is a Salesforce security best practice.

If you don’t activate this critical update, the Let guest users see other members of this community setting is turned off on all your communities (not just the ones created after Winter ’20). Make sure to assess all the communities in your org, including the ones created after Winter ’20.

If you turn off the Let guest users see other members of this community setting on your own on all your communities, and test your implementation, then you aren’t impacted by the Winter ’21 release.