Turn On Lightning Experience Critical Update Activates Starting January 7, 2020

Salesforce is turning on Lightning Experience for all orgs that don’t already have it enabled. The Turn on Lightning Experience Critical Update begins activating on January 7, 2020. Orgs will be activated on a rolling basis, with all orgs expected to be activated by January 31, 2020. After we turn on Lightning Experience, users still have access to Salesforce Classic. But Lightning Experience is where everyone should be for driving business growth and improving productivity. To get ready, verify your org’s existing features and customizations in the new interface, and prepare your users with change management best practices.

Where: This critical update applies to Group, Developer, Professional, Enterprise, Performance, and Unlimited editions for all orgs that don’t yet have Lightning Experience turned on.

Note

Note

Rather watch a video that has the 411 on this critical update? Here you go: Understand How the Lightning Experience Critical Update Affects My Users.

When: This update has been available since Spring ’19. The update auto-activates on a rolling basis starting on January 7, 2020 and finishes for all orgs by January 31, 2020.

Who: Admins with the Modify All Data and Customize Application permissions see the critical update in Setup.

This update applies to users who have the Lightning Experience User permission, including all users with standard profiles and users with custom profiles or permission sets that have the Lightning Experience User permission enabled. Custom profiles created before Winter ’16 don’t include the Lightning Experience User permission by default. Starting with Winter ’16, custom profiles that were cloned from a standard profile include the user permission, but admins can edit the profile to disable it.

After Lightning Experience is turned on, users who have the Lightning Experience User permission see the Switch to Lightning Experience link in the Salesforce Classic header. Once a week, Lightning Experience–enabled users who are working in Salesforce Classic are automatically logged in to Lightning Experience. These users can switch back to Salesforce Classic as needed.

Why: Lightning Experience is the future of Salesforce. It’s where all new Salesforce innovation happens, with reimagined classic functionality and “only in Lightning Experience” features. Moving to Lightning Experience benefits everyone, from business leaders and users to admins and IT teams. The new user interface improves user efficiency and productivity. And you get the power of the Lightning Platform, making it easy and flexible to align the UI with your processes, keep up with changes in your business, and improve your company’s bottom line.

How: You can self-enable Lightning Experience before January, and we encourage you to do so to take advantage of everything the new interface has to offer. We provide several tools that automate and speed up the transition process, including the Lightning Experience Transition Assistant.

We recommend that you test this critical update in a sandbox or Developer Edition org before activating it in production. To activate the update, go to Critical Updates in Setup, and select Activate next to Turn on Lightning Experience.

For more help with the Turn on Lightning Experience Critical Update, get answers to frequently asked questions or visit the Lightning Now Trailblazer Community.