Let Your Users Control Task Notifications Globally

Users can now control notification emails for all of their task assignments. This new setting replaces the checkbox on the Create Task page that triggers an email to the assignee of the task. The user setting is exposed by default. You can hide the setting from users. Either option has specific effects on users of Salesforce1 and the full Salesforce site, on Communities users, on partner portal users, on users who are assigned tasks via workflow task rules, and on users who are assigned tasks that are generated by the triggerUserEmail field.

Settings

Organization Setting (Enabled by Default)
To hide the user setting, in Setup, click Customize | Activities | Activity Settings and deselect Enable user control over task assignment notifications.
Important

Important

If you migrate an organization, consider disabling Enable user control over task assignment notifications to avoid excessive email notifications.

User Setting (Exposed by Default)
Users can disable email notifications for task assignments by going to My Settings | Reminders & Alerts | Events and Tasks and deselecting Email me when someone assigns me a task.

Effects of Exposing and Hiding the User Setting

Users Affected Effects of Exposing the User Setting Effects of Hiding the User Setting
Salesforce1 users, including Communities users In My Settings | Notifications, the Assigns you a task checkbox remains as is. In My Settings | Notifications, the Assigns you a task checkbox is removed.
Users of the full Salesforce site, including Communities users
  • On the Create Task page, the Send email notification and Make this the default setting checkboxes are removed.
  • In My Settings | Reminders & Alerts | Events and Tasks, the Email me when someone assigns me a task checkbox is added, and it’s selected by default.
  • On the Create Task page, the Send email notification and Make this the default setting checkboxes remain as they are, and users receive email notifications according to whether the checkboxes are selected.
  • No user setting is added.
Partner portal users
  • On the Create Task page, the Send email notification and Make this the default setting checkboxes are removed.
  • Users receive email whenever someone assigns them a task (partner portals have no settings page for administrators or users).
On the Create Task page, the Send email notification and Make this the default setting checkboxes remain as they are, and users receive email notifications according to whether the checkboxes are selected.
Users who are assigned tasks that are generated by workflow task rules
  • On the New Task page for workflow tasks, the Notify Assignee checkbox is removed.
  • Even if an administrator selected the Notify Assignee checkbox before Winter ’15, task assignees who use the new setting to suppress task assignment email notifications no longer receive any notifications.
Task assignees continue to receive email notifications according to workflow task rules.
Users who are assigned tasks through the API
Important

Important

An API must be used to set the triggerUserEmail value. The default value for triggerUserEmail is false.

  • If triggerUserEmail = true, then email notifications are sent according to individual users’ settings.
  • If triggerUserEmail = false, then email notifications are not sent when a task is assigned.
  • IF triggerUserEmail = true, then email notifications continue to be sent to all users when tasks are assigned.
  • If triggerUserEmail = false, then email notifications are not sent when a task is assigned.

Default Behavior Changes

Self-Assigned Tasks
If you create a task and assign it to yourself, no notification is sent to you.
Closed Tasks
Notifications are not sent for closed tasks.