SalesforceA Connected App Splits into Two

Prior to this latest release, SalesforceA security and permission settings were managed by one single connected app that supported both Android and iOS. Security and permission settings for the new SalesforceA for Android version 3.1 and SalesforceA for iOS version 3.4 are controlled by each separate connected app, respectively.
Note

Note

Earlier versions of the SalesforceA will continue to have security and permission settings controlled by the original single connected app.

Separating the single SalesforceA connected app into two dedicated connected apps for both Android and iOS lets you control security and permission settings for each platform individually. These benefits include more clarity to login history, OAuth usage, and better accommodation for future enhancements.

The new SalesforceA connected apps for both Android and iOS are automatically installed with default security and permission settings (for example, refresh token valid until revoked and PIN lock disabled) upon first use of SalesforceA for Android version 3.1 and SalesforceA for iOS version 3.4. No action is necessary if your org doesn’t require custom connected app security and permission settings.

If your org has custom security and permission settings in place through the original single SalesforceA connected app, you can replicate those settings at any time in the separate SalesforceA connected apps for Android and iOS.

See SalesforceA Connected Apps Administration on the App Exchange to install the new separate connected apps before the first use of SalesforceA for Android version 3.1 and SalesforceA for iOS version 3.4.

For more information about SalesforceA, see the SalesforceA Overview Knowledge Article in the Salesforce Help.